FIFA Hit Nigerian Officials With Long-Term Ban Over Leadership Dispute

World’s football governing body, FIFA has extended its ban on five officials over leadership crisis rocking Nigerian football.

The body’s disciplinary committee further extended the ban on Christopher Giwa, Muazu Suleyman, Yahaya Adama, Sani Fema and Johnson Effiong due to their roles in the crisis which is a breach of ‘NFF Statutes and the FIFA Code of Ethics.’

The committee revealed in a statement on its website: ‘In accordance with art. 136ff of the FIFA Disciplinary Code, the chairman of the FIFA Disciplinary Committee has decided to extend the five-year ban from taking part in any kind of football-related activity imposed on the five officials to have worldwide effect.

‘The relevant member association as well as CAF have been duly notified of the chairman’s decision.’

This decision leaves the Nigeria Football Federation leadership in the hands of Amaju Pinnick after tussles over the outcome of the election that brought Pinnick to power. Chris Giwa protested the outcome which led to his initial ban last May and he went to a civil court to challenge his ban which is not in accordance of NFF statutes.